Giving: Cinnamon Applesauce Dough

10 years ago my friend made me Applesauce Cinnamon dough ornaments for the holidays. They still smell incredible.

To make the dough mix equal parts applesauce and cinnamon. THATS IT!!!! Sometimes you might have to add a tiny bit more cinnamon.

Let your kids knead the amazingly wonderful scented dough. Let them shape as they want or use cookie cutters. Use a small pencil to make a hole at the top of your shape for a ribbon if you want to hang them.

Make it a bit more open ended allowing children to use tacky glue to glue on multi-colored soup beans, once the decorations are dry.

Dry the “cookies” on a cookie drying rack for several days. You may have to flip them to make sure they dry all the way through.  It could take up to seven days for the shapes to dry, so make sure your family knows they are NOT edible.

Bookmark and Share

I love NaBloPoMo
5 Responses to “Giving: Cinnamon Applesauce Dough”

  1. Alissa Says:

    Thanks for the recipe. These will make great gifts at the holiday. Maybe I can even take them home to my folks in my carry-on.

  2. Melody Says:

    Thank you! I think I am going to make these with my 4 year old for the holidays — for our tree and to give to family and friends. Hmmm…. wonder if they would fall apart if I mailed them…

    • Ellen Says:

      These will definately travel well. Keep the cinnamon and applesauce measurements 50/50, even if the dough may seem a little googpy. You can also brush on a layer of school glue watered down with a little water once they are dry. Just put the layer on top to keep it smelling nice.

  3. Melody Says:

    Thanks! We have a lot of out of town family I’d love to send something to from him. 🙂 We’ll just have to make sure they know they aren’t edible. BTW, I just added a link for you to subscribe to my blog. I was playing around with it earlier today, ended up going back to how I started except I am having to put some customizations back on!

  4. Giving: Pomander Fail and Then Success « Open-Ended Art For Young Children Says:

    […] I had a brainstorm…..the Applesauce Cinnamon dough I had made a few days earlier…would be the perfect consistency to make small pomanders. Both […]

Leave a Reply

