Giving: Pomander Fail and Then Success

My kids and I did not make the Pomander pictured here, but it was what I had intended. I thought the skin of a navel orange would be soft enough for the fingers of my 4 and 7 year old ot oush whole cloves into. I tried with my 4 year old, no luck. “Oh well,” I thought, “maybe this project will be for my 7 year old.” Fail #2.

Then I had a brainstorm…..the Applesauce Cinnamon dough I had made a few days earlier…would be the perfect consistency to make small pomanders. Both of my kids were able to make small balls out of 1 – 2 tbsp of the dough. Then I gave them each cloves to push in to their dough balls. I then gently rolled each one ot make sure the cloves were fully in. They dried on a drying rack in 2 days. 

Don’t forget to subscribe (see button the right —–>)

Bookmark and Share

I love NaBloPoMo
One Response to “Giving: Pomander Fail and Then Success”

  1. Alissa Says:

    Neat! I love your back-up plan. Very creative and I bet it smells heavenly. It would make a nice faux “mistletoe”.

Leave a Reply

